First Day Back


Just a quick rant about the first day of school this year. It started off great!

I had homeroom for a half hour, great to see all my homeroom students – I’ve had them for 3 years. So, seeing all the students back and talking about their plans for the year was quite exciting!

For the next 5 classes it was a whirlwind of procedures, course outlines, seating plans, textbooks, papers, and papers, and PAPERS! There was a sprinkle of Physics and Math in there, but I didn’t even make it past the first lesson in ONE class.

On top of that, 4 of my 6 classes are above 30 students. Oh wait, I mean they started above 30 students and I had 3 – 5 more show up DURING class… our school has increased enrollment by almost 80 students since June, and class sizes are starting to show.

Needless to say, at the end of the day – after learning about 100 new names and seeing 50 students I know, I am exhausted.

Sometimes, I lose sight of why I do this – teach that is, because it feels like I don’t get time to actually teach. Can’t wait for day 2 when we actually get to content!! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

