Moving forward?


Today, in my Physics 20 class, I had a terrible teaching day. Everything went wrong. 32 students in a computer lab is never fun and technology DID NOT make my life easier. From setting up various accounts to students shutting down from frustration (yes, early warning sign in physics)!

After it was all said and done, I had about 2/3 of my class on Google+. Then, I realized that due to an external factor, I couldn’t even use the damn program to teach!!!!! I wasted an hour of instructional time on an unusable tool. I felt incompetent as a teacher and completely out of place in a master’s program for that matter.

Being a teacher, I’ve reconciled this issue and I have a new (simpler) plan of attack for tomorrow. I am still able to use some of what we covered today, so at least it wasn’t a total loss.

I am extremely worried about this project after today. Can I possibly handle differentiated approaches to physics and reflections of 32 students?!? What do I do when a student shuts down due to external factors I am using… do I continue pressing the Physics?

I know these questions will work themselves out, but for a day 1 of a master’s project, I guess I am realizing just how messy Action Research really is!

Leave a Reply

