Sequencing Mathematics


A pet peeve of mine is how we have organized our Math. Why do we make students solve things algebraically before we show them a graph?

Well, students don’t see quadratic graphs until grade 11 – yet we teach factoring in grade 10. WHAT?! As a visual learner, I know that I was always upset when my teacher finally showed me that magical graph – at last, I knew WHY an answer is what it is. So, why couldn’t we have the graphs coming earlier…

Well, students can’t handle a 2D graph when they are learning to solve in grade 8 and 9. WHY?! In my experience, students UNDERSTAND on a graph. It’s always easier to get them to solve when they use SOME type of graph (or manipulative) – many of my grade 9 students used integer lines so add, subtract, multiply AND divide [this was interesting to me because I am typically a senior teacher].

Now, I’m really seeing this shift with the introduction of our ‘new Math’ curriculum. A Pre-Calc 30 student of mine is able to solve complex topics using his graphing calculator and guess and check – and MOST of the time he is correct. Now, this takes longer than the typically taught ‘algebraic’ method, BUT he also has shown a BETTER understanding what these topics mean, and what it means to solve. Five years ago, I would have been upset because this kid, “just didn’t get the math.” However, now, I recognize that he is able to attempt content he ‘hasn’t seen yet’ just by using these strategies I showed at the beginning of the year. Imagine how much further he could have gone if he learned these strategies younger.

Why are we waiting so long to show math?

Leave a Reply

